Friday, June 18, 2010

O'Brien County Foundation Grant Awards

The O'Brien County Community Foundation (OBCCF) recently awarded grants totaling $97,315 to twenty-six nonprofit organizations in support of projects and programs throughout O'Brien County.

Since the first grants were made in 2006, over $366,000 has been awarded. Funding for the grant program is a result of County Endowment Fund legislation (HF2302) passed in 2005 which provides that a percentage of the state's gambling revenues is to be distributed among all Iowa counties that do not have a gambling entity.
"The OBCCF has had the opportunity to help various nonprofit organizations throughout the past few years. For example, we have awarded grants to help preserve the history of our county, for building updates to area fire departments, and to modernize daycare equipment in various communities." stated Ann Carpenter, OBCCF Advisory Board Chair.
The OBCCF was formally established in 2005 through affiliation with the Siouxland Community Foundation and is governed by a local nine-member advisory board composed of representatives from each of the communities in O'Brien County: Archer, Calumet, Hartley, Paullina, Primghar, Sanborn, Sheldon, and Sutherland; as well as one county-at-large member.
The mission of the O'Brien County Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by encouraging permanent charitable giving to meet the needs of present and future generations.
For a complete list of grant awards:

No comments:

Post a Comment